RSS

IT’S MY BIRTHDAY, I’LL DIET ON MONDAY!

28 Aug

Since my birthday fell on a Friday, I feel obligated to celebrate it all weekend. Last night Hubby and I ordered from Dino’s, my favorite pizza place. We got a pizza with pepperjack cheese and ricotta cheese on it. SO GOOD. Plus some salad and a bottle of sweet red bubbly wine from Trader Joe’s. I’m Jewish so I like my wine sweet. We also had red velvet cupcakes (my favorite) from this new cupcake place in Pasadena called Sugar Fix. The pics are on Hubby’s phone so I’ll have to add them later.

Tonight I went out to dinner with my mom, aunt and uncle, and my cousin who is in town for the weekend, and of course Hubby. We went to Firenze Osteria, with chef/owner Fabio Viviani from Top Chef!! I’ve never been to a celebrity chef’s restaurant before. It was really very good. Plus, the decor is very interesting. Here is one of the prints of an Italian statue. The picture is fuzzy because I took it from across the room and the light was dim. The guy in the statue is holding his horn.

Italian Art

We started dinner with some bread and a spread made from tomatoes, olives, garlic, basil, and olive oil. It was very good. Then we got a grilled veggie platter with burrata mozzarella cheese and balsamic vinegar. We also got a plate of speck (like prosciuto) with arugala and grilled peaches that was really good. I forgot to take pictures until it was too late. I got the butternut squash ravioli with homemade pasta and a cream/sage/butter sauce, and it was fantastic.

Tortellacci di Zucca

Then they brought me a flourless chocolate cake for my birthday. It was FANTASTIC.

Flourless Chocolate Cake

And then I got some Panna Cotta with strawberries and a sweet balsamic reduction. I’ve never had balsamic with strawberries or anything sweet, and it was surprisingly good, although my tastebuds weren’t really used to that combination. But I enjoyed it, although it was served in a goblet with an opening narrower than the base so it was hard to get the food out. I also got some coffee which were served in cute mugs.

Panna Cotta

Coffee in cute round mug

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2010 in food and drink, me, outings

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “IT’S MY BIRTHDAY, I’LL DIET ON MONDAY!

  1. katie o.

    August 29, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    happy birthday!
    sounds like a perfect evening.

     
  2. A Girl & Her Dot

    August 30, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Looks lovely!!!

     
  3. bookjunkie

    September 2, 2010 at 7:57 am

    Happy Birthday….hope you had a great one 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
