RSS

SCREW AT&T!!

08 Sep

Hubby and I are totally fed up with AT&T. We use them for home phone, internet, and cellphones. And they get way too much of our money each month. Plus, when we’re trying to use the internet we constantly get dropped or have a super slow connection. So why the hell should we keep paying them $28/month?

So we just bought this cool new device from Virgin Mobile called the mifi.

It is a wireless router that runs on the Sprint network, but we actually pay a monthly NO CONTRACT fee of $40. Yes, it it more than AT&T, but it actually works! While we still get dropped, it is much less frequently than with AT&T, and it’s much faster. I would much rather give more money to Virgin for something that works. Plus, it comes with happy packaging:

Soon we may cancel our contracts with AT&T for our cellphones and get Virgin pay as you go plans. But wait, doesn’t it cost a lot of money to break your contract with a cell phone carrier? Why yes, it does! But this weekend I performed a cost-benefit analysis, and learned that if I break my contract with AT&T for my cellphone with texting and data plan, plus purchase a new cell phone from Virgin, I still will save $950 over the next 19 months!! That’s the remainder of my contract. That’s $50 a month. For $25 a month from Virgin I can get unlimited texting and data plan, plus 300 anytime minutes. I only use about 100 minutes a month anyway. So F*CK AT&T!!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2010 in complaints, geekery

 

Tags:

6 responses to “SCREW AT&T!!

  1. Steve - O

    September 8, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    I love the graphic! Hilarious!

     
    • harlsmits

      September 8, 2010 at 1:01 pm

      it used to say “internet” instead of “AT&T” but I changed it.

       
  2. harlsmits

    September 8, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Oh, and I forgot to mention I can take my little MIFI gadget ANYWHERE I want and use it. So I don’t have to buy internet service at a hotel, or I can use it at the condo in Palm Springs because I can never get the username/password correct for my aunt and uncle’s service out there. It’s great!!

     
  3. A Girl & Her Dot

    September 8, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    I keep wanting to call it a Muffie. HA!

     
    • harlsmits

      September 9, 2010 at 7:14 am

      I used to work for a woman who’s nickname was Muffie. Do you really want to be running a business and answering the phone with a stripper’s name? Maybe I will nickname my mifi my muffie. I’ll put a label on it.

       
  4. Pkitass

    September 9, 2010 at 6:58 am

    I have my issues with AT&T also.

     

Leave a Reply

 
