RSS

LUNCHTIME ADVENTURE

15 Oct

So Appelina and I tried a new place for lunch, called “I Love Tofu and BBQ.” They don’t have a website or I would link to it. It’s a Korean place, just a little hole-in-the-wall, run, it seems, by Korean ladies. Appelina got the chicken bowl with rice and veggies, and I got the Curry Tofu Stew, medium spicy. Both of us ate for only $16 total (no beverages, just water), and A’s chicken came with a small bowl of daikon soup and mine came with a very tiny salad. First they brought out my rice scoop, bowl, and an egg. When I got the egg I texted my husband to ask him what the hell I was supposed to do with it.

Then our assortment of side dishes came. This is my favorite part of Korean food. My favorite is the slices of fried tofu, the picked daikon, and the spicy cucumber.

Here is the very hot stone pot my rice came in. The waitress said she would help me with it because it was very hot but then she never came back so I used my napkin to lift the lid. Later she came back to put the rest of the rice into a bowl for me. But she left most of the crispy rice in the stone pot which was sad.

Here is my curry hot pot. It was bubbling like a lava pit. I broke the egg into the curry and stirred it up, which is what I think I was supposed to do with it.

And here is the adorable tiny dog we saw on the way back to work.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2010 in adventure, dogs, food and drink

 

Tags:

2 responses to “LUNCHTIME ADVENTURE

  1. bookjunkie

    October 21, 2010 at 9:48 am

    When it comes to Korean food I just love the hot plate rice thingy – the name escapes me now. Where there’s rice, various grated vegetables like carrots etc, egg and some meat is placed neatly and you need to mix it up with some wonderful spicy paste. A big metal spoon is provided which makes eating it even more fun.

     
  2. harlsmits

    October 21, 2010 at 10:09 am

    I think you’re talking about Bibimbap, served in a hot stone bowl sometimes so the rice gets crispy. That was my dad’s favorite Korean dish, basically the only thing he ever ordered. He would then take the side dishes and put them on the grill as well and then put them in the bowl. The waitress would sometimes see what he was doing and come by and turn off the grill. It was funny. The first time he tried Korean food was in Hawaii and he didn’t want to try it, but I insisted and he liked it. He pretty much liked anything that you could just mix all together and add spicy sauce on top.

     

Leave a Reply

 
