RSS

MY DAD

14 Jul

On February 25, 2010 my dad passed away due to complications of Parkinson’s Disease. This is why LIFE IS NOT FAIR. My dad, mom, and I used to go on family trips where we would explore nature and go on hikes and stuff. My dad went on hikes almost every day on his lunch breaks. He liked to go do stuff. We backpacked through Europe and my dad ended up carrying most of my mom’s stuff as well. He was always a strong man, physically, mentally, emotionally, spiritually. He always did what he thought was the right thing to do and he helped people. Over 100 people came to his funeral, and we received condolences from people he knew all the way back in high school.

And then he gets Parkinson’s and his mobility kept deteriorating and there were complications which I’m not going to go into at the moment because it’s only my third blog post and I don’t want to scare you away yet.

And then  you think, why did it have to happen to such a good person? Why did it have to be MY DAD? Why can’t these things happen to bad people? Or to nobody at all?

I was going to post the obit from the LA Times but as it lists names and everything I have decided not to.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2010 in dad

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “MY DAD

  1. Pkitass

    September 9, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Sorry about your dad.

     
  2. bookjunkie

    September 10, 2010 at 7:23 am

    your dad sounds amazing!! I am so sorry. you must have been his special girl 🙂

    my dad is my hero too (I still use the present tense even though he is not longer here physically). I found what helped me was journalling – I wrote to him in my journals and still occasionally speak to him in my mind. Soon after I lost him the song by Bread was playing on the radio “Everything I own” and I just broke down. all the lyrics….especially the words “Nobody else will ever know/ the part of me that can’t let go” was what I still feel in my heart today. ( David Gates was writing about the loss of his own father and that’s why it resonated with me. When I was much younger I always thought it was just a love song because when i first heard it it was the Boy George upbeat version)

    when we lose a parent..it just doesn’t matter what age we’re at….it hurts the same.

     

Leave a comment